

City of Malden

Malden City Hall 215 Pleasant Street Malden, MA 02148

Meeting Minutes - Final City Council

Councillor at Large Karen Colon Hayes
Councillor Paul Condon
Councillor Peg Crowe
Councillor Amanda Linehan
Councillor at Large Carey McDonald
Councillor Barbara Murphy
Councillor Ryan O'Malley
Councillor Jadeane Sica
Councillor Chris Simonelli
Council President Craig Spadafora
Councillor Stephen Winslow

Monday, January 3, 2022

6:00 PM

Malden High School 77 Salem Street Room J 278 Malden, MA

590-21

Members of the public and members of the Malden City Council who wish to attend the City Council Meeting remotely can do so using the following information:

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

<a href="mailto:<a href="mailto://cityofmalden.zoom.us/j/95888838678?
pwd=OEZaZExINU5iU0FzNWlxOXpERCtWZz09>

Passcode: 529012 Or One tap mobile :

US: +16465189805,,95888838678#,,,,*529012# +19294362866,,95888838678#,,,,*529012#

Or Telephone:

Dial (for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 646 518 9805 +1 929 436 2866 Webinar ID: 958 8883 8678

.

Passcode: 529012

International numbers available: https://cityofmalden.zoom.us/u/abSUmyWfnZ

This meeting will be recorded through Zoom.

If you would like to request a reasonable accommodation, please contact Maria Luise, ADA Compliance Coordinator at mluise@cityofmalden.org or 781-397-7000, Ext 2005.

1. CALL TO ORDER

City of Malden Page 1

The council recessed from the inaugural ceremony at 6:52 P.M. to go from the Jenkins Auditorium where the inaugural was being held to room J278 where the council meeting was being held.

Councillor Spadafora as the senior member of the council, presided over the meeting, called the meeting to order at 7:58 P.M.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & MOMENT OF SILENCE IN HONOR OF SERVICEMEN & WOMEN

3. ROLL CALL

Present - Councillors: 11 - Barbara Murphy, Carey McDonald, Chris Simonelli, Jadeane Sica, Karen Colon Hayes, Paul Condon, Ryan O'Malley, Stephen Winslow, Craig Spadafora, Peg Crowe and Amanda Linehan

4. GUESTS, CITIZEN ACHIEVEMENT AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

5. APPOINTMENTS & ELECTIONS

589-21 Election of Council President for 2022.

Attachments: Inaugural Notice 1.3.2022.Final

Councillor Condon made a motion to open nominations for Council President for 2022. The motion was seconded by Councillor O'Malley. It was so voted by roll call vote: Colon-Hayes (y), Condon (y), Crowe (y), Linehan (y), McDonald (y), Murphy (y), O'Malley (y), Sica (y), Simonelli (y), Spadafora (y), Winslow(y). Motion passed 11-0.

Councillor Linehan nominated Councillor Winslow, the motion was seconded by Councillor O'Malley.

Councillor Condon nominated Councillor Spadafora, the motion was seconded by Councillor Sica.

Councillor Condon made a motion to close nominations, the motion was seconded by Councillor Sica. It was so voted by roll call vote:

Colon-Hayes (y), Condon (y), Crowe (y), Linehan (y), McDonald (y), Murphy (y), O'Malley (y), Sica (y), Simonelli (y), Spadafora (y), Winslow (y). Motion passed 11-0.

Councillor Colon-Hayes made a motion to allow the two nominees to speak. The motion was seconded by Councillor Linehan. It was so voted by roll call vote: Colon-Hayes (y), Condon (n), Crowe (y), Linehan (y), McDonald (y), Murphy (y), O'Malley (y), Sica (n), Simonelli (y), Spadafora (y), Winslow (y). Motion passed 9-2.

Councillor Winslow spoke first speaking to the work he has done on the council and highlighted the projects as Councillor at Large he did working with individual ward councillors in their wards, he would bring that same diligence as Council President. Councillor Winslow stated that the vote tonight is for one year and next year another election would be held for Council President. Councillor Winslow continued that the city has and is changing and the council needs to change with it, stressing clear communication and positive change. Councillor Winslow stressed three things he would like to do as Council President, look at the committee makeup and consolidate. eliminate or create additional committees with a focus on climate change, growth and

energy, focus on issues around race and updating the City Charter. Councillor Winslow finished bt saying we need to be proactive rather reactive.

Councillor Spadafora started by saying he agrees with many of the points raised by Councillor Winslow and that he would support Councillor Winslow if he is successful and hopefully he will do the same. Councillor Spadafora stated some of the goals he would have as Council President is to form a finance and policy committee with a 5 and 10 year plan that will address long range plans especially given the money that is coming in, he agrees with Councillor's Winslow's concerns on climate change and the environment and would be looking to establish an Environmental Resiliency Committee, would like to establish a committee on technology, he would also like to break up the Citizens Engagement Committee and have an age friendly committee citing examples from AARP that has written about an 8 point plan and finally create an intercultural committee that will address bias in the community.

Both Councillor Winslow and Spadafora answered questions by councillors from what they had highlighted in what they would do as Council President.

Councillor Winslow made a motion to close the debate on Council President, the motion was seconded by Councillor Murphy. It was so voted by roll call vote:

Colon-Hayes (y), Condon (y), Crowe (y), Linehan (y), McDonald (y), Murphy (y), O'Malley (y), Sica (y), Simonelli (y), Spadafora (y), Winslow (y). The motion passed 11-0

The council took the vote on the two nominees for Council President by roll call vote: Colon-Hayes (Winslow), Condon (Spadafora), Crowe (Spadafora), Linehan (Winslow), McDonald (Winslow), Murphy (Spadafora), O'Malley (Winslow), Sica (Spadafora), Simonelli (Spadafora), Spadafora (Spadafora), Winslow (Winslow). Councillor Spadafora was elected Council President for 2022 by a vote of 6-5.

6. COMMUNICATIONS

7. PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

8. ADJOURNMENT

by Councillor Ryan O'Malley, seconded by Councillor Peg Crowe,That this meeting be adjourned.. The motion carried by the following vote:

The meeting adjourned at 7:42 P.M.

Yea: 11 - Murphy, McDonald, Simonelli, Sica, Colon Hayes, Condon, O'Malley, Winslow, Spadafora, Crowe and Linehan

GREGORY LUCEY, CITY CLERK